100 万上片对您意味着什么?

在玻璃加工行业实现数字化已经花了一些时间。但现在有所好转,用户数量也在迅速增加。为什么会这样?

诸如格拉司通之类的领先企业,通过向客户介绍数字化带来的好处,展示其数字化战略路线图的切实进展,以及向云端添加更多客户和客户资料以加速整个运动,从而推动了对数字化的需求。

2018 年的大部分时间里,我们通过落实理念和收集数据来建立信心,将其他行业开始享受的数字化的好处引入玻璃加工行业。现在,我们可以回首曾经,直观感受我们取得的进展。实际上,我们所取得的成就远远超出最初的预期。我们改进了在线报告,现在我们真的很自豪地将在线报告呈现给客户和整个业界。我们的工作带来了很多信息,现在具有宝贵价值。

实现初期里程碑

到 2018 年底,根据计划,格拉司通成功地实现了几个重要的里程碑:现在已有 100 多条钢化生产线和分层生产线实现了云连接,目前已经记录了 100 万上片的数据。

越来越多的玻璃加工商加入数字化运动,这是因为他们了解了这些优势。目前,有 38 个国家和地区拥有的加工商数量最多,位于美国和欧洲,其次是亚太地区。

Glaston Insight

但这些数字在实际应用中意味着什么呢?

这些加工商明白,他们可以通过结合其信息来学习和改进操作流程。他们知道他们可以完全信任这些数据,以确保每个人都能受益。对他们来说,进入云端的次数越多,了解的有关以下方面的知识也越多:即更加智能地运行设备,找到提高生产力的方法以及发现提高质量的方法。总之,做出更好的商业决策,从而提高盈利能力。

对于像格拉司通这样的机械供应商,收集到的信息有助于我们基于数据分析提供新服务。

例如,我们可以看到机器是如何使用的,各种厚度的玻璃是如何进行钢化和分层处理的 — 并了解更多有关正在运行的玻璃类型及其参数的信息。这有助于我们改进所提供的服务,帮助客户实现更高产能和更佳质量。

AI 取得的切实进展

我们的数字化路线图取得的另一发展是将人工智能 (AI) 提高到新的水平,这意味使得钢化和分层机械实现完全自主。格拉司通目前正积极致力于为其技术增加机器学习和愿景。

作为其中的一部分,我们实施了强化实境 (AR) 和虚拟实境 (VR),以帮助我们的员工和客户完成培训和维护任务。去年秋季,我们的采用 AR 的新“支持空间”概念首次在德国杜塞尔多夫国际玻璃技术展览会 (Glasstec) 上展出 — 今年夏季,在即将到来的芬兰 GPD 上,我们将很高兴能够向大家展示更多!

Support room Virtual Reality

此时此刻,整个运动都让人异常兴奋,因为客户不仅可以看到 AI 带来的真正好处,还可以看到其他数字化技术如何帮助他们实现业务目标。他们可以利用这些技术更好地跟进生产,取得更高产能,以及学习以更智能的方式提高玻璃质量的方法。

同样,对于操作人员来说,数字化将大大降低其工作难度、减轻其压力。尽管如此,即使采用完全自主机器,我们也始终需要工作人员维护机器,开发各项流程,以及为其市场开创新型玻璃。即使可能,在未来的很多年里,我们也不会实现无人运营。我们需要人们提出质疑 — 并结合 AI 创造出一个我们预想的世界。

想了解更多?

注册 Glastory 快讯

分享这个故事

作者简介

Kai Knuutila

Digitalization Manager at Glaston

What does 1 million loads mean to you?

Putting digitalization into practice in the glass processing industry has taken some time. But now the momentum has picked up and the number of users is accelerating rapidly. Why is this?

Pioneers like Glaston have helped fuel the demand for greater digitalization by educating customers about the benefits, demonstrating real progress along their digital strategy roadmap – and adding more customers and their data to the cloud to accelerate the entire movement.

We spent the majority of 2018 building our confidence by implementing ideas and collecting data to bring the benefits of digitalization that other industries are starting to enjoy to the glass processing industry. Now, we can look back and see our progress. We’re actually even further than we initially aimed. Our online reports have improved, and we’re really proud now to present them to customers and to the entire industry. Our work has led to a lot of information that now offers value.

Reaching the first milestones

By the end of 2018 and according to plan, Glaston successfully reached several of its big milestones: over 100 tempering and laminating lines are now cloud-connected, and data from 1 million loads has now been recorded.

Growing numbers of glass processors are joining the digitalization movement because they understand the advantages. At the moment, 38 countries are represented with the largest number of processors being located in the US, Europe and then followed by Asia-Pacific.

Glaston Insight

But what do all these figures mean in practice?

These processors understand that by connecting their information, they can learn and improve their operating processes. They know they can fully trust the data so that everyone connected benefits. For them, the more they’re tapped into the cloud, the more they can learn about running their equipment smarter, finding ways to raise productivity and discovering ways to improve their quality. In short, making better business decisions that lead to greater profitability.

For machinery suppliers, like Glaston, the information gathered helps us offer new services based on data analytics.

We can see, for example, how our machinery is used, how various glass thicknesses are tempered and laminated – and learn more about the types of glass being run and their parameters. This helps us improve our own service offering to support our customers in reaching higher capacities and better quality.

Real progress with AI

Another development along our digitalization roadmap is to take artificial intelligence (AI) to the next level, which means enabling tempering and laminating machinery to become fully autonomous. Glaston is currently working intensively on adding machine learning and vision to its technology.

As part of this, we’ve implemented augmented reality (AR) and virtual reality (VR) to help our own people and our customers with training and maintenance tasks. Our new Support Room concept using AR was showcased for the first time at Glasstec last fall – and by the coming GPD Finland this summer, we’re pleased to be able to show everyone more!

Support room Virtual Reality

There’s a lot of excitement around this entire movement right now since customers can see the real benefits of AI and also how other digitalization technologies can help them reach their own business goals. They can use these technologies for better production follow-up, to reach higher capacities and to learn ways to improve their glass quality with more intelligence.

For operators, too, digitalization will make their jobs much easier and less stressful. Still, even with fully autonomous machines, we will always need humans to take care of the machines, develop the processes and explore new types of glass for their markets. We won’t be operating without humans for many years to come, if ever. We need people to ask the questions – and partner with AI to create the world we’d like to envision.

Want to know more?

Sign up for Glastory newsletter

Share this story

About the author

Kai Knuutila

Digitalization Manager at Glaston